Golden Leaf Spotlight on Novella: Liz Matis

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is just over a month away!  To help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists each day until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or Romance Writers of America (RWA) authors who live in Northeastern U.S. or Canada.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 14, 2016.

“Guarding the Quarterback” by Liz Matis (Little Hondo Press)

quarterback_amazon-2     With another woman I would’ve shrugged off the rejection, but beneath her hand my heart pounded for her, my blood racing to my groin. She made a mistake. Now she was more than a challenge, she made herself forbidden fruit. I told myself that all this was. A lie. But it was my lie to live.  

     “But I have big reason why you should.” I hauled her up against my unmistakable hardness. The utter softness of her, melded to my body. To the world she wore armor of toughness and indifference but in my arms it all fell away.

     Alexa’s wicked smile signaled my victory. Then she whipped out her gun and pressed it against my cheek. “And I have a bigger reason why we shouldn’t.”

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Good luck to Liz and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

It’s not too late to register for the conference. Visit http://www.njromancewriters.org/ for more information and to register. Registration is open until October 4th.

Leave a Reply

