Golden Leaf Spotlight on Young Adult: Maria V. Snyder

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is less than a week away!  To help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists leading up until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or in Romance Writers of America (RWA) Region One.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 17, 2014.

Spotlight on Young Adult: “Taste of Darkness,” by Maria V. Snyder (Harlequin)

TOD-front-blog

He sank to the ground and rested his forehead on his knees.  Alarmed, I knelt next to him.  Touching his arm, I said, “It can’t be that bad.  You’re alive!  Whatever else is going on we can deal with it.  What happened to you?”

Kerrick lifted his head.  Leaning back on the trunk, he pulled me close, wrapping his arm around me.  I snuggled in, pressing my cheek against his chest content to listen to him breathe.  Did it matter what happened?  He was here with me.

After a few heartbeats, he said, “I promised you I wouldn’t die from the Death Lily toxin.  Do you remember?”

“Of course.  I’ve thought of nothing else since that night.  It’s what kept me going when everyone said you’d died.”

“It’s what kept me alive.”

Warmth spread through my chest, but I waited, sensing there was more.

“But it came with a price.”

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Good luck to Maria and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

One thought on “Golden Leaf Spotlight on Young Adult: Maria V. Snyder

Leave a Reply

