Golden Leaf Spotlight on Young Adult: J.K. Rock

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is a week away!  To help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists leading up until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or in Romance Writers of America (RWA) Region One.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 17, 2014.

Spotlight on Young Adult: “Camp Boyfriend,” by J.K. Rock (Spencerhill Contemporary)

Camp_Boyfriend_cover

Seth went on. “Since when did you prefer dancing to stargazing, tanning to pursuing your Aerospace Scholar dreams? That wasn’t the Lauren I knew. Loved.”

I flinched. Who knew a verb tense could cut as deep as a knife? Seth no longer loved me because I’d changed.

How ironic that I’d come back to camp to get back to the things I’d loved, especially Seth. But Matt had stopped that chance and, suddenly, I was glad he had. What was so wrong with liking dance and astronomy? Cheering and the science club? The popular and the outsider cliques? The problem was, I hadn’t realized I could do both, be both. If I’d gone back to Seth, I would never have learned that.

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Good luck to J.K. and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

Leave a Reply

