Golden Leaf Spotlight on Romantic Elements: Delynn Royer

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is less than two weeks away!  To help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists leading up until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or in Romance Writers of America (RWA) Region One.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 17, 2014.

Spotlight on Romantic Elements: “It Had to Be You,” by Delynn Royer (Carina Press)

838_Carina_0414_9781426898129_ItHadToBeYou

“If you print one word of that baloney, I’ll have your pretty keister in a sling. Understand?”

She’d struck a nerve. He didn’t like talking about Nell Murphy. Why? Trixie grinned. “You think my keister is pretty?”

“It won’t be when I get through with it.”

She was too jazzed to pretend to be chastised. “You may be a big scary policeman, but that’s not why I wouldn’t go to print without telling you first.”

He started walking, eating up the cracked pavement with his long strides. Trixie followed gamely. “I’ll tell you why. Because you’re my source. My bread and butter. You’re my ticket out of—” She almost said “rewrites.” She shut her mouth.

They stopped at 42nd and Eighth to cross. Sean spared Trixie a glance. “And you are a pain in my—”

“Ah. I warn you. In my business, we take that as a compliment.”

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Good luck to Delynn and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

2 thoughts on “Golden Leaf Spotlight on Romantic Elements: Delynn Royer

  1. This book was such fun! New York in the Roaring 20s. Banter between Trixie and Sean. I can’t but it down. I found it a welcome change from much of the “romantic fiction” out there today. I look forward to the next book.! Good luck Delano Royer! You’ve got my vote!

Leave a Reply

