Golden Leaf Spotlight on Romantic Elements: Tanya Holmes

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is less than two weeks away!  To help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists leading up until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or in Romance Writers of America (RWA) Region One.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 17, 2014.

Spotlight on Romantic Elements: “Within Temptation,” by Tanya Holmes (Virtual Acquisitions)

Within Temptation - Tanya Holmes

There was no pity in his eyes now as his gaze wandered my body. He may have killed my mother, may have even taken another life in prison, but I wasn’t afraid—not in the least. Dear God, had I become like those wretched women who got turned on by bad boys with blood-splattered pasts?

Fighting it, I looked away. “Please…stop.”

“Stop what?”

I drew a shallow breath. “This. What you’re doing.”

“What am I doin’, Shannon?” He anchored a forearm to the wall above my head. His left arm hung at his side.

I swallowed. “You’re trying to scare me.”

“That’s where you’re wrong.” He looked me over again, and when he spoke, his voice came out deep and gravelly. “Right now, scaring you is the furthest thing from my mind.” He snagged a whiff of my perfume and inched closer. “Way I see it, I’ve politely asked you to leave, but you refused. So I’m left wondering what’s keeping you here. Can’t be my sunny disposition.”

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Good luck to Tanya and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

Leave a Reply

