Golden Leaf Hall of Fame Spotlight on Paranormal: Maria V. Snyder (Touch of Power)

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is less than six weeks away! This year, we have two Golden Leaf Hall of Fame recipients. This achievement is awarded to a published author who has won three times in the same category. Presentation of the prestigious Hall of Fame award will be done during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference award ceremony on October 17, 2014.

Over the next several days, we will spotlight these award-winning books.

Spotlight on Paranormal: “Touch of Power,” by Maria V. Snyder (MIRA), Golden Leaf winner 2012

9780778313076_TS_SMP.indd

“I still feel guilty,” Kerrick said.

“You shouldn’t.  I told you from the beginning that it was my decision.  And as I recall, you couldn’t threaten, bully, coerce, bribe or otherwise make me decide in Ryne’s favor.”

“I remember.  It’s etched in my brain.”

“Good to know I made a lasting impression.”

“Oh, you made an impression.  Like a stone caught in my boot.”

“Gee Kerrick, don’t get all mushy on me.”

He appeared chagrined.  “Sorry.  It’s been over four years since…I’m a little rusty.”

“Just be yourself.  No.  Wait,” I said in mock panic.  “Don’t be yourself.  Be like Belen.  A sweet, lovable type.”  I grinned.

“And what do you consider Belen?” he asked.

“A good friend.  Why?”

“I don’t want to be your friend, Avry.”  Kerrick stroked my cheek, then leaned in and kissed me.

It was a wonderfully sweet kiss at first.  But he soon let me know sweet and lovable wasn’t his style at all.  Intense and passionate would be a more accurate description.  As desire swept over me, I didn’t want to be his friend, either.

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

 

If you missed it, check out our interview with Maria here.

Catch an excerpt from Storm Glass here.

It’s not too late to register for the conference. Visit our website for more information. But hurry, registration closes October 4th!

Leave a Reply

