In The Mind of Angela James – 30 Years of Happily Ever Afters

This week we’re jumping over the hump with our featured workshop presenter and editor, Angela James!

Angela will be giving a workshop at our conference in October. Your Copy Editor is Not Your Proofreader: Understanding Editor Roles & How to Hire the Right One is just one of many fabulous workshops we have scheduled.

For more information on our conference, on how to register, and other popular questions, please visit our website at http://www.njromancewriters.org.

Please welcome Angela!

With so many changes in publishing over the past year, where do you see the future of publishing going?

I wish I had a superpower that would tell me where it’s going. Publishing is in an incredible state of change, it’s impossible to predict (it’s always been impossible to predict). I think the only true thing that we can say about the future of publishing is that there will still be publishing and people who want to read great books.

If you could have one special, supernatural power, what would it be?

See the above question.

How would you describe yourself in five words?

Dedicated. Smart. Humorous. Strong. Adaptable.

What are you reading now?

I read over 300 books a year, my answer to this will have changed by tomorrow. My current genre obsessions are sexy contemporary romance, dark erotic thrillers, and fantasy romance.

What is your favorite quote?

My favorite quote is in picture below.

angela james funny

<laughs!> What’s your favorite place in the world to visit?

Italy. I fell in love with Italy when I was there in 2013. I loved everything about visiting there, all of the different parts of it I visited, including the language (which I absolutely don’t speak more than 20 words of). I can’t wait to go back.

Who’s your favorite hero?

I think I’m a cliché by saying this, but Roarke, from the JD Robb In Death series.

Who’s on your auto-buy list for authors?

Nalini Singh, Shannon Stacey, JD Robb, Jayne Castle, Ilona Andrews, Julie James, Kristen Ashley

What’s your biggest dream?

The late Kate Duffy, who was last an editor at Kensington, made a tremendous impression on me and it’s really my dream to someday know that I made enough of an impression on the industry that people will remember me positively after I’ve left it.

Cat or dog person?

I have 2 dogs and 3 cats, I think I qualify as both!

Okay, get ready, we have our rapid response portion. Don’t think about your answers, just say the first thing that comes to mind. Ready?  

Favorite color: Favorite anything questions are hard for me because I rarely have a favorite anything! I like to spread my love around 😉

Wine or liquor? Both, why choose!

Tea or coffee? Tea

Decaf or caffeinated? Decaf. I gave up caffeine 6 years ago. I know this seems impossible for someone working in publishing, but it’s true.

Boxers or briefs? Boxer briefs. I love a man in boxer briefs. But if my husband is reading this, then I mean I love you in boxer briefs, honey.

Chocolate or vanilla? Is it ice cream? Neither. I’m not really a fan of ice cream but if I eat it, I prefer something like mint chocolate chip or butter pecan.

Donald Duck or Goofy? Donald Duck is possibly the most annoying, self-indulgent character Disney ever created.

Frozen (the movie) or Tangled? Frozen. It makes me laugh because my 9 y/o is totally over the soundtrack so we randomly sing snippets of “Do you wanna build a snowman” to her when she least expects it.

Channing Tatum or Johnny Depp? David Beckham. (Ha! Me, too!)

Want to meet or attend Angela’s workshop? Make sure you check out the information on our conference at http://www.njromancewriters.org!

Registration closes October 4th!

Angela James

2 thoughts on “In The Mind of Angela James – 30 Years of Happily Ever Afters

Leave a Reply

