In The Mind of Julie Rowe – 30 Years of Happily Ever Afters

This week we’re jumping over the hump with our featured workshop presenter and fabulous romance author, Julie Rowe!

Julie will be giving a workshop at our conference in October, Taming Twitter, just one of many fabulous workshops we have scheduled.

For more information on our conference, how to register, and other popular questions, please visit our website at http://www.njromancewriters.org.

Please welcome Julie!

What is your process for writing a book? For example, are you a plotter or a pantzer? Do you start at page 1 and write your book sequentially or do you skip around? Do you start with your characters or the plot?

I’m a cross between a plotter and a pantzer. I need to know key scenes and the conflict of the main characters before I begin writing. Sometimes I write sequentially, sometimes a great idea will occur to me in the middle of something else. I’ll stop to write that idea so I don’t lose it.

Do you use any techniques, tools, or aids to help you write?

I free write first – so no editing – how it comes out is how it comes out. I edit later. I typically write dialogue and action first, then layer in description and emotion later.

How do you make time to write?

When my kids were small I’d write in 15 minute blocks, because that’s how much uninterrupted time I could get. Now I write in 30 to 60 minute blocks at various times throughout the day.

When you are writing, who is in control? You or your characters?

I’m in control, but the characters talk to me a lot during the writing process – that includes edits too. They often complain if I’ve written something they decide is stupid or too real to be believed, because fiction has to be believable.

Have you had any “ah ha” moments as a writer?

My biggest “as ha” moment arrived when I realized I was asking the wrong question as I wrote. I asked “What next?”, when I should have been asking, “How any I make things worse?”

Amen! I’ve heard that’s the best thing for a book. Speaking of which, what advice do you have for other writers?

Persist. Write. Repeat until you reach your goals, then make new goals.

Why did you decide to become an author?

Decide? Ha! No one chooses to become a writer. Writing chooses you. 99% of writers I know write because they can’t stop themselves from writing.

What do you want your readers to take away with them after reading the story?

I hope they take away a satisfying emotional journey. I hope they learn something new about themselves through the story. I hope they put the book down feeling hope.

What do you know now about writing that you wished you knew before The Call?

I wish I knew how time consuming everything about writing that isn’t actual writing is. Marketing, promotion, conferences, swag, accounting all take an enormous amount of time. Social media sucks a lot of my writing time in a black hole somewhere.

Do you have an ebook reader? If so, which one?

I have a kindle 3G. It’s about 4 years old now. I’d like to get a kindle paper white next. I have a Kobo tablet, but I don’t use it for reading much.

What makes a man attractive to you?

Attractive man = smart, funny, great smile, strong but gentle hands, mustache.

Remind me to show you a picture sometime of Mr. Stone and his throwback to the 70’s with the “stash.” What is your favorite quote?

You don’t concentrate on risks.  You concentrate on results.  No risk is too great to prevent the necessary job from getting done. – Brig. Gen. Chuck Yeager.

How long have you been writing?

Since 1998 – wait, that long???

<LOL> Who’s on your auto-buy list for authors?

Nalini Singh, Thea Harrison, Patricia Briggs, Mercedes Lackey, Elizabeth Moon and Lee Child for sure.

All FABULOUS Authors. Okay, get ready, we have our rapid response portion. Don’t think about your answers, just say the first thing that comes to mind. Ready?   

Favorite color: Blue

Favorite number: 7

Favorite Actor: Johnny Depp

Favorite Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Wine or liquor? Tea

Tea or coffee? Tea

Decaf or caffeinated? Both

Boxers or briefs? Who cares, they both come off.

Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate

Donald Duck or Goofy? Goofy

Frozen (the movie) or Tangled? Frozen

Channing Tatum or Johnny Depp? Johnny Depp

Want to meet or attend Julie’s workshop? Make sure you check out the information on our conference at http://www.njromancewriters.org and register! 

Julie_Rowe

Leave a Reply

