Golden Leaf Spotlight on Novella: Stephanie Draven

The annual NJRW “Put Your Heart in a Book” Conference is only a month away!  And to help share our excitement, we’ll shine the spotlight on one of our Golden Leaf finalists each day until the conference.

The Golden Leaf is awarded annually for excellence in romance fiction by authors who are NJRW members or in Romance Writers of America (RWA) Region One.  Winners will be announced during the NJRW Put Your Heart in a Book Conference held October 18-19, 2013.

Spotlight on Novella: “When I’m Bad I’m Better,” by Stephanie Draven (Berkley)

When I'm Bad I'm Better cover

“How do I feel about you? I love you, Leo.”

He starts to smile, but falters when he sees my expression. “Well, you couldn’t look less thrilled about it.”

I promptly burst into tears.

“Because it’s awful! I can’t imagine why anyone would ever want to be in love. I look at you and my belly flutters. I haven’t been able to eat more than a few bites since the day I met you. I can’t sleep because whenever I close my eyes I remember how it feels to be touched by you. I daydream about you when I should be working. Sometimes, I even start shivering just at the sound of your name. It’s like I’ve fallen ill with something that could be fatal!”

Good luck to Stephanie and all our Golden Leaf finalists!

And it’s not too late to register for the conference. Visit our website for more information.

(Work is copyright of the author; may not be reused without permission.)

Leave a Reply

